Toronto Urban Film Festival Winners Announced

Onestop and Art for Commuters announce TUFF award winners at Closing Party

Toronto, Ontario [September 19, 2010] - The winners of this year's 4th annual Toronto Urban Film Festival (TUFF) which played on Onestop's TTC network of digital displays on subway platforms were announced at its annual award ceremony, hosted at The Drake Hotel. The event drew the attention of a record breaking audience full of film-makers, enthusiasts, TUFF jury members, media, and even mayoralty candidate Joe Pantalone.

This year's 1st place award went to Ahmet Serif Yıldırım from Turkey for his film "Recycle"; 2nd place went to Patrick Jenkins from Toronto for his film "Tara's Dream" an animated short that also pick up the award for Best Animated Short by a Local Artist; and third place went to Sally Larson of Philadelphia for her film "Axiom" which also picked up the award for Best in Category: The Medium is the Message. Dave Martyn and Nadine Espinoza won the City of Toronto's Naish McHugh Award Emerging Filmmakers, for "A Walk Through," and the WIFT-T Award for Most Ambitious Film by a Female Director went to "Ito's Toronto" by Laura Nashman. The Audience Choice Award, sponsored by the Drake Hotel, was won by Steven Shanahan for "Paper Games" with 1786 online votes. Total votes received during the festival was over 7000.

To view the films and for a full list of all 19 award winners visit:

"I am pleased not just with the remarkable number of submissions we received this year, but with the quality of so many of the films. This year TUFF featured a wonderful mix of local talent and international voices. I'm already looking forward to next year's submissions, but in the mean time I encourage people to check out the TUFF website, which is a fantastic repository for films from all of our past festivals." said Onestop TUFF Director Sharon Switzer.

Michael Girgis, CEO and President, Onestop Media Group adds, "TUFF is the perfect marriage of arts and audience. It truly is a unique festival that requires no tickets, no line-ups, and is fused into the daily commute of TTC riders."

"It was great to be with so many people that live work and play film this evening. Toronto has been called the fourth best city to experience culture in the world and TUFF is one of the reasons why." says Joe Pantalone, Deputy Mayor, City of Toronto.

This was a banner year for the festival, with 352 submissions from 25 Countries. Canadian submissions were up 43% from 2009 while International submissions rose an impressive 118%. Genie Award-Winning director Deepa Mehta, was this year's guest judge. Deepa joined a prestigious list of actors and filmmakers who have served as TUFF guest judges in the past, including Don McKellar (2009) Mark McKinney (2008) and Jeremy Podeswa (2007). Since its launch in 2007, the festival has grown in both size and stature, currently featuring 80 ultra-short films and over $15,000 in cash and prizes.

TUFF is co-produced by Onestop Media Group and Art for Commuters, and is funded by the Canada Council for the Arts. This year TUFF featured seven different urban-themed categories of one-minute silent films. Films played every 10 minutes from September 10 - 19 on Onestop's TTC network of digital displays on subway platforms reaching over one million commuters daily. This year, TUFF increased the number of specially designated screening areas called "TUFF Film Zones" at select downtown stations which screened films nonstop for 10 days. Films were also accessible online for voting.

*Pictures from the closing party awards ceremony are available upon request.

For more information, visit TUFF online at:

Film stills, etc can be downloaded at

- END -

For more information, contact:
Erin Fulton, Onestop Media Group
Tel: 416-646-7912 || E-mail:

TUFF is co-produced by Onestop Media Group ( ) and Art for Commuters ( ) and funded by the Canada Council for the Arts( ).